A+ A A-

heavy metal rock tributes

Judas Priest - Screaming for Vengeance - tribute

Hello everyone! “Harder than steel” is again delivering you another great dedication for a special release of the past. In this issue I chose to write about a very important album of the band Judas Priest. The reason of choosing this band is mainly because I was speaking in a forum with some other metalheads, most of them were young in the age, about Judas Priest. Surprisingly those guys knew nothing, or at least very little things, about the band prior “Painkiller” album! To be honest I was shocked. How can someone judge something or someone that know nothing of the past work and simply “happen” to hear the non-inspired albums “Jugulator”, “Demolition” and the rest (till today) attempts to ruin their name. I am leaving “Painkiller” outside those cds because it is exactly on the edge. It is something like the flashing light that the star gives prior its destruction.
Well, which album shall I choose? “British Steel” or “Screaming for Vengeance”? I chose the second one and you will understand the reason in the next lines…

“Painkiller” is something like the flashing light that the star gives prior its destruction....

Drakontas - 2009


General Info

Screaming for Vengeance is the most important albums for Judas Priest. The main reason is because Judas Priest had already showed that they were capable to compose great music with the “British Steel” album in 1980 but that album was their 6th in a row. Simply try to imagine a band that their first couple of releases received not much attention, then joined the roster of Columbia Records and the next 3 releases (“Sin After Sin”, “Stained Class”, “Killing Machine”) built a good name and then reached “British Steel” which gave them their first platinum sales album! Also there were the first good sales in the European ground of United Kingdom. Maybe the title of the album was more or less an advertising trick in order to enter the European market, even if you think that the band is British! Since that album everyone started searching Judas Priest’s past releases.

The Destruction

Their next release (“Point of entry”) was a complete destruction for the band. The compositions were clearly non-inspired with few good riffs only. The world believed that Judas Priest gave everything that could and simply the end was near. Obviously they were with their back on the wall and there were no more chances left for failure.

Screaming for Vengeance

Then came “Screaming for Vengeance”! They skyrocketed the sales into double platinum in United States and platinum for Canada. They may lost the European battle because of “Point of Entry” but the USA territory was opened for them as they “cleared” their name. The opening tracks “Hellion/Electric Eye” are true NWOBHM masterpieces. Impressive riffs and solos, perfectly combined rhythm section and emotional vocals by the legendary Rob Halford. The song is talking about the “1984” novel which is talking about the satellite that was recording people lives, placed by the government. The listening of this album is smooth. The production smells the sound of 80s. Rob’s singing abilities showed in nearly every song. There are great dual guitarist parts and outstanding atmosphere.

There were 3 singles released of the tracks “Electric Eye”, “(Take These) Chains” and “You've Got Another Thing Comin’” (the last one managed to reach #4 in the US Charts). Other songs that make out this album are “Riding on the Wind”, “Devil's Child” and of course the same title song “Screaming for Vengeance”! As far as you can understand there are not bad songs in this release.

The artwork shows a metallic eagle full of rockets and machine guns that is in attacking mode. A suitable cover for such a powerful album! But what end shall be suitable for this article? I think I will “steal” the backcover’s lines:


"From an unknown land and through distant skies came a winged warrior. Nothing remained sacred, no one was safe from the Hellion as it uttered its battle cry... Screaming for Vengeance."


Judas Priest - Screaming for Vengeance

Columbia (1982)

  1. The Hellion
  2. Electric Eye
  3. Riding on the Wind
  4. Bloodstone
  5. (Take These) Chains
  6. Pain and Pleasure
  7. Screaming for Vengeance
  8. You've Got Another Thing Comin’
  9. Fever
  10. Devil's Child




Live Reports





External links are provided for reference purposes. Metalmare Magazine is not responsible for the content of external internet sites. Template Design by DrakontasGraphics.com | Promotional & Management by theLeaders.eu | All rights reserved.